Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Archive for May. 6, 2011

God Defines What Saves Us


If you are not a Christian, it doesn’t matter if you give all of your money to feed the poor, have every spiritual gift, and do many wonderful works. If you don’t obey the gospel of Christ, God never knew you. It is God who defines what saves us, and it begins and ends with our obedience, and faithfulness to His Word.

Mt 7:21-23; 1 Cor 13:1-3; Jn 8:31; Heb 6:11; Rev 2:10; Rev 3:11

Share & Make Comments on FaceBook
Click Here

A Mother’s Love


There is not a more important job, and responsibility in the world than motherhood. The foundation of every child begins with their mother. She most often is the one who teaches her child to crawl, to take its first step, and say its first word. A mother will scold, encourage, and chastise her child, setting the stage of how they will conduct themselves in the world. A Christian mother is the first to introduce her child to God. She reads to them from the bible, teaches them to pray, and sings to them songs of praise. She carries them to church services, encourages them to participate, and guides them to the doctrine of Christ.

I remember my own mother telling me how I got my first introduction to  obedience, when I wouldn’t stop crying for a bottle at the age of two. She took me outside of the church building, and showed me the power of a mother’s right hand. She said, “You snubbed for a while, but you never had a tantrum ever again.” It was my mother who encouraged me to lead singing at the age of three. She was there when I accepted the gospel of Christ. She was there when I preached my first sermon. She was there each step of my Christian life.

She was the one who taught me to stand up for myself when bullies would pick on me. She was the one who took me to school the first day, and was there the day I graduated, with the pride only a mother can feel. She was the one who put band aids on my cuts, her back hand to my butt, and tucked me in each night before I went to sleep. She bathed me, clothed me, and taught me right from wrong. She taught me the value of truth and honesty, and a hard days work.

She was my best friend, my confidant and the love of my life. She taught me how to care, love, and respect a woman. She even taught me how to lose someone I never thought I could. I lost my dear mother 10 years ago, but the lessons I learned in life are instilled with me to this very day. The love she embedded in me as a child was reciprocated to her in her last days, and I can say with tears in my eyes that I miss my mother greatly.

If your mother is still with you today, I hope you treat her like the queen she is. I hope you honor, and treasure her, and let her know just what she means to you. Let her know how much you love her, and care for her, and cherish her. Her love for you is pure, unconditional, and endless. If God ever placed angels without wings upon this earth, it would have to be a mother. There is no one on earth who will ever love you more than your mother.

Tag Cloud