Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Who Is Leading You?

David declared in the 23 Psalm, “He leads me beside the still waters, He leads me in the path of righteousness for his name’s sake.” David cried in Psalm 61, “Hear my cry, O God, attend unto my prayer, lead me to the rock that is higher then I.” Again, I hear David as I read Psalm 5:8, when he said, “Lead me, O Lord in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make your way straight before my face.”

I hear John in John 10:1-4, “Verily, verily I say unto you, He that enters not by the door into the sheepfold but climbs up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber but he that enters in by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the porter opens; and the sheep hear his voice and he calls his own sheep by name, and leads them out. He goes before them, and the sheep follow him; for they know his voice.”

Can’t you hear Jesus in Matthew 23, when you read, “But, woe unto you scribes and Pharisees hypocrites: for you shut up the kingdom of heaven against men for you neither go in yourselves neither suffer you them that are entering to go in.” Verses 15 says, “For you compass sea and land to make one proselyte and when he is made you make him twofold more the child of hell then yourselves.”

We love to talk about denominations, and then we will turn right around and do worse than they because we claim to know better, but example proves many just as foolish. We condemn women preachers in denominations, but most so called brethren allow women to be teachers of children and women when the church assembles. This they do despite the scriptures silencing women in the assembly (1 Cor 14:33-40). Not only that, but many brethren encourage women to preach or teach during the week as if Christ and His apostles commissioned women to do such (1 Tim 2:11-14).

There are many liberal minded brethren who form choirs and even have instrumental music to accompany them either before, during, or after services. Entertainment is a big part of denominations and so it is among wayward brethren. Instead of being the example that the world should follow, we are following the world. Shame on us!

My mind is reminded of Isaiah 3:12: “O my people, they which lead you cause you to err, and destroy the way of your paths.” Jesus said in John 16:10, “If you keep my commandments you shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my father’s commandments and abide in his love.” God’s love is conditional and based on that “If.”

My question is based on Matthew 15:3, “why do you also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition.” Be aware that verses 8 teaches, “This people draws near unto me with their mouth, and honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me but in vain they do worship me teaching for doctrine the commandments of men.”

Brethren let us be the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart not with eye service, as men pleasers (Eph. 6:6). The goodness of God leads you to repentance (Rom. 2:4).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

