Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Why I Preach The Gospel

I want to be a worker for the Lord! I believe that preaching the gospel is the greatest work to be done in His Kingdom. When I think about why I want to preach the gospel of Christ every day of my adult Christian life, many reasons come to mind. Here are a few reasons why I want to preach the gospel of Christ:

It Is The Will of God

It is God’s will that those who hear and obey the gospel learn how to teach it to others. Before ascending into heaven, Jesus commanded, “Go you into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature” (Mk. 16:15). Matthew’s account says, “Go you therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world” (Matt 28:19-20). It is written, “And the things that you hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit you to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also” (2 Tim. 2:2).

In Hebrews 5:12-14, Paul rebuked the Hebrew Christians, a saying, “For when for the time ye ought to be teachers, you have need that one teach you again which be the first principles of the oracles of God; and are become such as have need of milk, and not of strong meat. For every one that uses milk is unskillful in the word of righteousness: for he is a babe. But strong meat belongs to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.

Evidently there is a time after one’s conversion when the Lord expects his children to be able to teach others.

To Be Pure From The Blood Of All Men

God said unto his prophet Ezekiel, “Son of man, I have made you a watchman unto the house of Israel: therefore hear the word at my mouth, and give them warning from me. When I say unto the wicked, You shall surely die; and you give him not warning, nor speak to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life; the same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand. Yet if you warn the wicked, and he turn not from his wickedness, nor from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity; but you have delivered your soul (Ezek. 3:17-19).

I want to preach the gospel of Christ because I realize that if I fail to warn the wicked of their wicked way, I will be held accountable. “Yes, woe unto me if I preach not the gospel” (1 Cor 9:16). I want to be able to say as Paul said, “Wherefore I take you to record this day, that I am pure from the blood of all men” (Acts 20:26).

Preaching Saves

Paul wrote, “For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe” (1 Cor. 1:21). It may seem foolish to some that I want to preach the gospel of Christ, but preaching saves! The gospel of Christ has saving power! The apostle Paul declared, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believes; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek” (Rom. 1:16). The gospel of Christ is able to save men from their sins (Jam 1:21), but it must first be preached!

We Are Going To Be Judged By The Gospel

I want to preach the gospel of Christ because we will be judged by it at the last day. Paul revealed, “In the day when God shall judge the secrets of men by Jesus Christ according to my gospel” (Rom. 2:16). This judgment will be world-wide in scope, but individual in nature. “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he has done, whether it be good or bad” (2 Cor. 5:10). Since the gospel will be the standard of judgment, people need to have the gospel preached unto them.

Paul’s Charge

Paul charged Timothy and all future generations of gospel preachers when he said, “Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long-suffering and doctrine. For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables. But watch in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of your ministry (2 Tim. 4:2-5). To put it even more simplistic terms, the gospel is the only thing that stands between mankind and hell and damnation (Mk 16:16 f; 2 Thess 1:7-9).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

