Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Archive for Mar. 1, 2017

Who Is Leading You?

biblical-proof-dec-20-2015

David declared in the 23 Psalm, “He leads me beside the still waters, He leads me in the path of righteousness for his name’s sake.” David cried in Psalm 61, “Hear my cry, O God, attend unto my prayer, lead me to the rock that is higher then I.” Again, I hear David as I read Psalm 5:8, when he said, “Lead me, O Lord in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make your way straight before my face.”

I hear John in John 10:1-4, “Verily, verily I say unto you, He that enters not by the door into the sheepfold but climbs up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber but he that enters in by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the porter opens; and the sheep hear his voice and he calls his own sheep by name, and leads them out. He goes before them, and the sheep follow him; for they know his voice.”

Can’t you hear Jesus in Matthew 23, when you read, “But, woe unto you scribes and Pharisees hypocrites: for you shut up the kingdom of heaven against men for you neither go in yourselves neither suffer you them that are entering to go in.” Verses 15 says, “For you compass sea and land to make one proselyte and when he is made ye make him twofold more the child of hell then yourselves.”

Isaiah said, “O my people, they which lead you cause you to err, and destroy the way of your paths (Isa 3:12) Jesus said in John 16:10, “If you keep my commandments you shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my father’s commandments and abide in his love”. His love is conditional and based on that “If.”

My question is based on Matthew 15:3, “why do you also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition.” Be aware that verses 8 teaches, “This people draws nigh unto me with their mouth, and honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me but in vain they do worship me teaching for doctrine the commandments of men.”

Brethren, let us be the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart not with eye service, as men pleasers (Eph. 6:6). Paul wrote to the Ephesians “That we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting” (Eph 4:14). The goodness of God leads you to repentance (Rom. 2:4). It is God’s Word which leads us. “Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path” (Ps 119:105). “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and He delights in his way” (Ps 37:23).  “Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed” (Jn 8:31). Allow the Word of Jesus and his apostles lead you through ‘narrow and difficult path’ which leads to life everlasting! (Matt 7:14)

Tag Cloud