Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Biblical Proof Dec 20 2015

I recall a time when my mother was invited to attend the Baptist church. The man said, “You come to my church and I will attend yours.” My mother’s reply was golden. She said, “I don’t trade the Lord’s church for the Devil’s workshop.” I know of many who attend a denomination who call the church they attend, “My church”. This is something Christians from the Lord’s church will never say. It is not our church but rather it’s the Lord’s church!

First of all, Jesus said, “Upon this rock I will build My church…” (Mt 16:18). Jesus bled and died for His church. He sacrificed His life that you and I might have eternal life. Jesus is the head of the church for he purchased it with his own blood (Eph 1:22,23 ff; Col 1:18; Acts 20:28). As the head of the church, the gospel by which one gains entrance also belongs to Christ. No one can be added to His church except they believe with the heart and confess with the mouth that Jesus is the Christ (Rom 10:9,10). They also must repent and be baptized for the remission of sins (Acts 2:38). Then and only then does Christ add one to His church (Acts 2:47).

The doctrine which governs the Lord’s church also belongs to Christ (2 Jn 9). This doctrine governs the Lord’s church in every respect. It demands we meet each Lord’s day to remember the Lord’s death by partaking of the Lord’s supper (Acts 20:7 f; 1 Cor 11:24-26). It commands us to give of our means freely to assist the needy saints and to proclaim the gospel unto all the world (1 Cor 16:1-3 f; Eph 4:11,12). It instructs us to sing and make melody in our hearts to the Lord, and not with the use of instrumental music (Eph 5:19 f; Col 3:16). It demands that women be submissive in the family and the church in order that faithful men might be qualified to be elders and deacons of His church (1 Cor 14:33-40 ff; Eph 5:23,24; 1 Tim 3:1-13). It reminds us that the Word of God is not to be added to or taken from lest we be accursed (1 Cor 4:6 ff; Gal 1:6-9; 1 Pet 4:11; Rev 22:18,19).

No, I don’t have a church, but my Lord and Savior does. And I invite you to attend this church because contained within it is the manifold wisdom of God, the pillar and ground of the truth (Eph 3:10 f 1 Tim 3:15).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

