Speaking where the bible speaks, and silent where the bible is silent.

Biblical Proof

Why can’t those who read the bible understand the bible? Most can read. Most can understand what they read. Yet, when they read the bible they can’t understand it. Why?

I can’t answer for everyone, but I can answer for many on this one question. Most don’t understand the bible because they refuse to allow God’s Word to have the last word. Most religions want to put their two cents worth in God’s Word. This is why the Catholics have their own bible. This is why the Baptist have their own manual. This is why the Mormons have their own bible. This is why the Adventist have the writings of their own prophetess. This is why many in the Lord’s church have the writings and works of denominational authors to aid their study.

Those on the day of Pentecost didn’t have the Catholic or Mormon bible. They didn’t have the Baptist manual. They didn’t have prophets or prophetesses to rule the church. They didn’t have denominational commentaries or lexicons. Eventually, the all sufficient bible was written and the gospel was preached to every nation.

If you rely on the writings and opinions of men or women you have no need to speak to me concerning the bible. I read only one book, and I rely upon the gospel and doctrine of Christ for my salvation. I speak where the bible speaks and I remain silent where the bible is silent (1 Pet 4:11). I will not go beyond that which was written, nor will I equate the writings of men or women with God’s Word (1 Cor 4:6). And I hope and pray that if you truly want to go to heaven that you do exactly the same (Jn 7:16,17 ff; Jn 16:13; 1 Cor 11:1).

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

